Archive for the ‘Old Anchient’ Category

Fakfak and Jayapura, West Papua

February 13, 2008

PT. In the book of Nagara-Kertagama writen by Rakawi Prapanca of Majapahit, during the rule of King Hayam Wuruk, in 1365 A.D,  it was mentioned that West Papua was belong to Majapahit Kingdom territory. As mentioned in one of its paragraphs that “Muwah tikhan i wandan, ambwan (Ambon) athawa maloko wwanin (Fakfak)” were claimed as the sovereign territory of the kingdom of Majapahit.  

Fakfak  was likely to be the city center due to its strategic location, such as close to Mollucas.  Since the fall of Majapahit 1478, Nusantara has not well organized and in about 1898 the Dutch began serious exploration.  During Ducth Colonialization, Jayapura City had been chosen to be a Defense Post of Dutch Army in Pacific area. The Dutch government was assigned P.  Windhower at Debi Island, a little island in Yotefa Bay in 1908.  In 1912 the post was moved to a mouth of Numbai river, which is a small river that is mouthed in Yos Yudarso Bay. In a formal ceremony, this mouth of Numbai river then named Hollandia on March 7, 1910. The date was then decided to be the birth date of Jayapura. The status of Hollandia City which was a district had become the government Provincial City. Some of the events happened after that moment were the name of Hollandia was changed into Kotabaru (New City), then Sukarnopura and finally Jayapura. However, West Papua is still Indonesia’s “wild east”. Much of it was still unexplored by outsiders in the 1930s. Allied (American and Australian) forces passed through here in 1944 on the way to the reconquest of the Philippines.

After the Indonesians defeated the Dutch in 1949 and 1950, the Dutch insisted on keeping Irian Jaya (West Papua). They finally gave up the colony in 1963, under a combination of military and diplomatic pressure. In 1969, a UN-sponsored referendum led to Irian Jaya becoming a province of Indonesia. The vast development forced the Region Government to split Jayapura to two districts: North Jayapura and South Jayapura. In 1988, Jayapura was become Administrative City and then in 1993 became Jayapura madya City. Lately, with the Act of Region Government number 22 year 1999, it was then becoming Jayapura City. (Lt)